KUCCPS First Revision Of Degree, Diploma And Certificate Choices For 2018/2019 Placement

The Kenya Universities and Colleges Central Placement Service (KUCCPS) is established by the Universities Act, 2012 to coordinate the placement of Government-sponsored students to universities and colleges, among other functions.

The Placement Service Board held its 28th meeting on 17th January 2018 to discuss the 2018/2019 placement of Government-sponsored students to Universities and Colleges.

KUCCPS 2018/2019 University Cut off Points for All courses pdf

After considering the analysis of the 2017 KCSE Examination Results together with the available capacities in Kenyan Universities and Colleges, the Board resolved that:

  1. All 2017 KCSE candidates who scored a minimum aggregate grade of C+ and above shall be eligible for placement to both public and private universities to pursue degree courses under Government sponsorship.
  2. All candidates who scored a minimum mean grade of C – (minus) and above shall be eligible for placement to pursue diploma courses offered in tertiary institutions.
  3. All candidates who scored a mean grade of D and above shall be eligible for placement to craft certificate courses offered in public colleges.

Towards this end, the Placement Service will open its online application system for applicants to revise their choices on Wednesday, January 24, 2018 at 00.00 hours and close on February 14, 2018 at midnight.

Those who did not submit their applications through their schools may use this opportunity to apply for degree, diploma or certificate courses of their choice as Government supported students.

Candidates who sat for their KCSE examination earlier than 2017 are only eligible for placement to Diploma and Certificate courses.

The application procedure and other relevant guiding information may be accessed through the Placement Service website www.kuccps.ac.ke.

Online Application Support

The Placement Service officers will be in the following universities and colleges to offer online application support to applicants between Monday, January 29, 2018 and Saturday, February 3, 2018.

  1. Kenya Coast Polytechnic – Mombasa
  2. Coast Institute of Technology – Voi
  3. Weru Technical Training Institute – Malindi
  4. Nyeri National Polytechnic – Nyeri
  5. Meru National Polytechnic – Meru
  6. University of Embu – Embu
  7. Kenyatta University (Nakuru Town Campus) – Nakuru
  8. Eldoret National Polytechnic – Eldoret
  9. Maasai Mara University – Narok
  10. Nyandarua Institute of Science and Technology – Nyahururu
  11. Kitale National Polytechnic – Kitale
  12. Baringo Technical College – Baringo
  13. Laikipia University (Maralal Campus) – Maralal
  14. Sigalagala National Polytechnic – Kakamega
  15. Alupe University College – Busia
  16. Uzima University College – Kisumu
  17. Kisii University – Kisii
  18. North Eastern National Polytechnic – Garissa
  19. Wote Technical Training Institute – Makueni
  20. Tseikuru Technical Training Institute – Mwingi
  21. Placement Service Offices located at ACK Garden House, 1st Ngong Avenue, Community (near Ardhi House), Nairobi

For more information, you may contact the Placement Service by email to [email protected] or calling 0723 954 927 or 0734 879 662. Please note the application/revision dates carefully.

Candidates who scored D – and E in their KCSE examination are urged to visit the Vocational Training College nearest to them and enrol for an Artisan course of their choice.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



I did my kcse in the year 2016 and due to lack of school fees i didn’t manage to join the university i was called to yet had scored a meangrade of c+ and was to pursue a degree course. so will I manage this year to apply for another chance in a university to pursue a degree course not diploma?