Home Education List of Kenyatta University Students Expelled Over Demonstration

List of Kenyatta University Students Expelled Over Demonstration


Kenyatta University  through the A.G Registrar (Academics) , Mutegi Mukobwa, has released a list of students expelled over demonstrations that arose from the disputed student elections. The university was Indefinitely closed in November after the students “resisted” elections and boycotted exams.

According to The Kenyatta University memo dated 17th November 2017 , read, “Following the continuing nationwide lecturers’ strike that has adversely affected academic activities and heightened agitation among students, The University Senate had decided to close the University until further notice.

In view of the foregoing, All Students are required to vacate the University premises by Friday, 17th November 2017 at 9.00am

The students begun protesting to what they believed was injustice in the students elections. Morara one of the students contesting to be the president of the student organization, was excluded by the administration from contesting in the elections which angered his supporters.

The students had also a day earlier resisted doing exams claiming that they had not been taught.


List of  Students  of Kenyatta University Expelled Over Demonstration

In the memo dated, 29th December 2017, read:

This is to inform all the students that the following eight persons are no longer students of Kenyatta University after they were expelled from the university:

  1. Kabaso David Morara
  2. Ochienf Dominick Orwa
  3. Mboya Austine
  4. Mutuku Erick Musila
  5. Agoi Trevor
  6. Amisi David Rodgers
  7. Wafula Victor Nangacho
  8. Nyamweya George Nguru

They appeared before the students disciplinary committee (SDC) and were found guilty of gross misconduct relating to inciting students, organizing and participating in the disturbances which led to the destruction of University property in blatant contravention of University Rules and Regulation governing students conduct.

Date: 29th December 2017

Signed by Mutegi Mukobwa

For: A.G Registrar (Academics)